Just my two cents

Musings on social media and the world as I see it

Hello world!

3 Comments


So here I am on WordPress, creating my first blog post! I’ve been fighting this for a long time, for a few reasons, which I’m sure I share with many. First, “who in the world would want to read my blog?” I’m sure the first blogger must have thought the same, or their ego never let them think that. (Ego is not one of my strong suits!) Then there’s the issue of “what would I say,” which I’m sure has stumped many a blogger, novelist, journalist, and anyone else behind a keyboard. But when I read a blog post this week by a great PR woman I follow on Twitter, she said that when she gets a resume from a person who doesn’t blog or use other forms of social media , that resume goes to the bottom of the pile. That was my wake-up call. It was time. So @ginidietrich, thanks to you, I’m starting my very first blog!

Knowing I needed to do this, the question obviously became what the heck am I going to blog about? I certainly don’t claim to be a social media “expert” or “guru” so I didn’t really want to focus on that. I’m leaving that to the real experts (although aren’t we all still learning?). Of course that doesn’t mean you won’t see the occasional post on that. I also don’t want to be too personal, for obvious reasons. But then I realized that I have access to literally millions of tiny pieces of information every day in the form of tweets. One tweet, one posting of a simple 140 characters, can certainly inspire an entire blog post, and yesterday, I found just that — a tweet that is still bothering me more than 24 hours later. And there you have it. My subject matter for my blog was born. Each post will be based on a tweet I come across that inspires me, motivates me, pisses me off, makes a lightbulb go off over my head, or just sits well with me. The basis of my blog posts will be one simple 140 character tweet, and from that, I’ll share my own thoughts.

So now that you know where this blog is coming from, here’s my first post. Yesterday I read a tweet that was posted by someone I follow, and normally, this person has some pretty interesting posts, some snarky, which I always appreciate, some insightful, some just plain fun. But yesterday’s tweet said: “I’ve been to Louisiana… Unless this oil spill arrives with a handful of beads I’m pretty sure nobody will notice.”

This tweet struck me as cold, cruel, insulting and totally out of touch with the reality of this tragedy. I too have been there. OK, so it was for Jazz Fest and it was pre-Katrina, and it was a very limited view of the state since I was only in New Orleans. But the fact is that what I hold in my memory, beyond the music and the stereotypes that come to life on Bourbon St, are the recollections of the people and their relaxed, pleasant and polite ways — something not very common in my little corner of the world. So these people, these hard-working people who are not among the wealthiest in the country, are now facing yet another hardship, and the painful impact that this oil spill will have upon the economy of their state. A state that is still recovering, I might add. Then take into account the devastation that is imminent to the plants, wildlife, and sea life that are in the path of this spill that has yet to be contained. I’m so saddened by the sight of birds covered in oil who may not survive, and fishermen who make their hard-earned living who are now facing an uncertain future given the impact of this spill. So there may be no beads involved, but I’m quite sure that the people of Louisiana are taking notice, to say the least. And I’m completely appalled that someone could minimize such a tragedy while belittling an entire region of our country through what he thought was an innocent tweet. I can’t believe anyone could be so cold and heartless. At the same time, thanks for the inspiration for my first tweet. I feel much better now.

Author: Nancy Jean

I love reading, writing, music, the beach, and being a mom to two rescue dogs. My job is social media for health care.

3 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Go, girl…keep posting 😉

  3. And NOW you are a blogger! YAY! What a great way to use Twitter to find inspiration, too!! Congratulations!

    P.S. I think it’s WAY too soon for anyone to be called a social media expert so don’t be afraid to write about it!

Leave a Reply

