Just my two cents

Musings on social media and the world as I see it

How quickly we adapt

Leave a comment


It always amazes me how quickly we adapt to new technologies, and how fast we forget how to do things without it. When I see “there’s a problem, don’t panic” showing up in the lower corner of my TweetDeck dashboard, of course I panic. What else am I going to do? How am I going to find out what is going on? How am I going to tweet out those 140 characters that must be tweeted RIGHT NOW!?! The same is true when our intranet goes down at work. I need to call someone, but I can’t look up their number on the intranet… what do I do? I PANIC!

Technology has made our lives so much easier. I remember the first time I sat down at a PC to do word processing and thought, “This is amazing! No typos that require white out?!?” (Wow, I’m really giving away my age on this post.) And then there was that amazing invention of the fax machine. How cool was that? Of course the Internet was too big to even comprehend, and let’s not forget the predictions of it being a fad!

Yet we’ve quickly adapted to the leaps and bounds that technology has taken and we’ve gobbled up every bit of it and made it a vital part of our lives. So much so, that we’re at a complete loss when something happens to that technology. We’ve become completely dependent on the technologies available to us today.

A few weeks ago, we had a major issue with our network at work, that resulted in many hours of incredible work by our IS department to get the entire network up and running again. But in the midst of that, I found myself in a media crisis needing to write a media statement with no PC available. I reached back into the recesses of my mind and remembered that bizarre machine that was sitting in a lunchroom, virtually unnoticed every day. So here I was, sitting in front of a dinosaur IBM Selectric, with no functioning correction tape, of course, trying to write a media statement about our technology going on the fritz. Ironic, no?

My point? Technology is a wonderful thing, but I think we need to remember that technology fails, and we’d better have a back-up plan. So my question to you… what would you do if the Internet suddenly crashed, just for a day. Would you be able to function and do your normal day’s routine? Can’t wait to hear what you’d do. Comments please!

Author: Nancy Jean

I love reading, writing, music, the beach, and being a mom to two rescue dogs. My job is social media for health care.

Leave a Reply

