Just my two cents

Musings on social media and the world as I see it

Twice too often – a call to stop domestic violence

Leave a comment


When I write a blog post, which isn’t often, I normally write about social media. But today is very different. Over the weekend, I heard about a gruesome murder here in Rhode Island. It was a case that was all over the news, but I had no idea who the woman was. It was a clear case of domestic violence, and the husband is in custody. Two children were taken from the home. It’s just horribly, horribly sad. This morning, thanks to a friend from Twitter, I learned that the victim was someone I had also met on Twitter, though only briefly.

This was her Twitter profile. A woman that many of us would like to know, or did know: “Mom,Writer,Music Gives Me Energy & A Little Inspiration,Love Art,Laughter Is My Tool To Get Through Life.. Journaling while writing.” May she rest in peace.

When this kind of horrible incident occurs, you think it could never happen to someone you know, but it can. As a matter of fact, this is the second time for me. Twice too often.

Domestic violence is horrible. It leaves women (and sometimes men) battered and bruised. Their spirit torn, their confidence shattered. Children are so often impacted, not understanding what it is like to grow up in a loving home where violence is not a common occurrence. And sometimes, the violence goes too far, and a life is lost. Children are senselessly left without a parent, and it’s just heartbreaking.

The friend on Twitter who relayed this information to me felt terrible, and was afraid she missed some signs of this in the victim’s blog or in her tweets. I’m sure there are others who knew her well who are feeling the same way — was there a sign that was missed, were there clues, should anyone have known? When an unthinable tragedy  happens, I guess it’s normal to think about what might have been done to avoid or prevent it from happening. I usually think that everything happens for a reason, but I cannot think of one reason for something like this to happen.

I don’t know what I can say about domestic violence that hasn’t already been said, but I make a plea to women who might be in this situation to find the strength and courage to get out before it’s too late. Before another life is taken too early, before another child loses a parent senselessly.

For anyone who knows a victim of domestic violence, PLEASE try to help. Get them the resources they need, give them a ride to a shelter, help them any way you can to get them out of the situation. They may not have the strength or they may be too scared to do it alone.

Let’s not let this happen to another woman. Do what you an to spread the word and raise awareness about something that happens too often.

Author: Nancy Jean

I love reading, writing, music, the beach, and being a mom to two rescue dogs. My job is social media for health care.

Leave a Reply

