Just my two cents

Musings on social media and the world as I see it

Unplugging… the follow up.

2 Comments


Someecards always know just what to say.

If you read my previous post, you know I thoroughly enjoyed my state of being semi-unplugged for five glorious days. Cosmos and lunches and just a few emails and limited social media. I said I was enjoying life.

Then the end came. The shoe dropped. The clock struck. Time to work. So on Thursday, I did just that. After a good workout in the morning, I dove right in, refreshed, awake and ready to rumble. And then I saw the list of unread emails. The six tweet streams flowing. The Facebook pages, and the repins and the to-do list. And then it hit me. THIS is real life! Vacation is NOT real life. Unless you are retired, independently wealthy or live off a trust fund (and where can I get one of those!?!) work IS your life. There’s no two ways around it.

We all know that since the economy flopped a few years ago, those of us who still have jobs are thanking our lucky stars that we do. Along with that is the knowledge that many of us carry workloads that in days past, those financially wonderful days of yesteryear, more people would be doing the work that is now left for one person to manage.

These are the days we live in. This is our reality. Our weekends and our vacations are just that… time to catch up, take a breath and get ready for real life… and that’s what work is all about.

So if unplugging while you’re on vacation or on your weekends is going to help you rest, then do it. Enjoy that break. We all need it every so often… and now, back to real life.

Do you unplug? How often? Do you find it hard to keep yourself away from the technology even on your down time? Would love to hear what others are doing!

Author: Nancy Jean

I love reading, writing, music, the beach, and being a mom to two rescue dogs. My job is social media for health care.

2 thoughts on “Unplugging… the follow up.

  1. I completely get this … yet it also depressed me. I think too many of us lose sight of what’s important, and while yes, work is important and we’re lucky if we love what we do, ideally we should work to live, not live to work, shouldn’t we? But I totally know what you mean about getting back to work after a few days off, and seeing the workload that piled up. It just makes all that relaxation fly out the window. Someday we’ll all learn how to really unplug, and hopefully we won’t be bombarded the second we return to work after a few days off.

    • Thanks for reading, El! I didn’t mean to be such a Debbie Downer! And I agree that you SHOULD work to live, and pay your bills and it shouldn’t be your life. But sometimes, well, it is what it is!

Leave a Reply

