Just my two cents

Musings on social media and the world as I see it

Tragedy in my hometown

2 Comments


I had to share this post from a friend/colleague who has written about what many of us have been struggling with this week. Well worth the read.

Somewhere in the Middle

People in every town say it: That would never happen here.

But it did happen, in my hometown of Danvers, Mass.

I don’t live there anymore, and aside from six months in 1997-98, and college breaks, I truly haven’t lived full time in Danvers since I left for college in 1987.

But it will always be my hometown.

So, like many others, I was devastated this morning when I read about a 14-year-old boy, a recent transplant from Tennessee, who had been reported missing.

Then I saw another news story about all public schools in town being closed because of a homicide investigation.

My immediate thought was bullying – that some kids picked on this young boy and it went too far. My heart broke for him.

But it wasn’t long before we learned that the homicide being investigated was that of a young woman, Colleen Ritzer, a 24-year-old…

View original post 390 more words

Author: Nancy Jean

I love reading, writing, music, the beach, and being a mom to two rescue dogs. My job is social media for health care.

2 thoughts on “Tragedy in my hometown

  1. Such a beautiful and generous young woman, such a tradgedy.

Leave a Reply

