Just my two cents

Musings on social media and the world as I see it

On being open and honest in social media

Leave a comment


fictionEveryone has their own personality, their own unique self, and that is one of the beautiful things about social media — that the true self can shine through when people are open and honest.

Of course I’m willing to bet there are some people who aren’t completely honest. They may feel the need to put  their best self forward, slightly tweaking their own little personalities to be the best they can be in the social world. There’s nothing wrong with that, and I tend to do a bit of that, especially in my day job. Sometimes the things I think or would like to say might not be the most appropriate things to tweet while representing a brand. And that makes sense.

Then there may be other people who develop a persona just for social media. Like tweeting from their dog. They assume what they think is their dog’s personality and tweet out what they think their dog might be thinking. OK, I get it. Fun, quirky, and now sort of overdone.

Then there are those who are anonymous and like being that way, and feel free to say anything they want, because they are protected behind that veil of anonymity. And if their true identity were revealed, they would probably be mortified.

I tend to follow the rule of “would I want my mother to know I said that” when I’m in the social media or blogging worlds. If it’s something mom wouldn’t approve of, you probably won’t find me typing it out to the world.

I appreciate the relationships I have built through Twitter and Facebook and to some extent, LinkedIn. I feel like I’ve connected with and gotten to know some amazing people who I otherwise never would have. To me, the great thing about social media is being able to connect to people and feel like you know them. Some day you always hope to meet some of them IRL (in real life), but if that doesn’t happen, you can still stay connected.

Then there are others who love to start rumors, or lie outright and spread their lies through the social networks. And often times, the lies are believed to be true, because, after all, if it’s on the internet, it must be true, right?

Today, I came across this article: “Pheme: The social media lie detector being developed by EU Researchers.” And while it’s fascinating, it really kind of made me sad. I’m not so naive as to believe that everything said in social media is true, or everyone is representing themselves honestly. At the same time I like to think that for the most part, people are decent and good. Of course there are rumors that spread like wildfire through social networks, and sadly, many people believe them. When I read this article, I couldn’t help but think that if we need such “lie detectors” to determine fact from fiction, we’ve gone in the wrong direction.

While it may be a good tool, I’m going to rely on old-fashioned gut instinct and a little personal fact checking when I suspect something doesn’t really ring true. After all, that has worked well for many years, right? Or am I just old?

Author: Nancy Jean

I love reading, writing, music, the beach, and being a mom to two rescue dogs. My job is social media for health care.

Leave a Reply

